Work-life balance has perennially been a topic of public interest given that the majority of modern citizens have been striving for the harmony.

Work-life balance has perennially been a topic of public interest given that the majority of modern citizens have been striving for the harmony. This, however, has never been considered an easy task for most people. In this essay, I will cite several underlying reasons to this issue and sound proposals to address it. There are some justifications for the misbalance among the bulk of people. To begin with, in this day and age, many people are either snowed under with colossal workload or work odd shifts, which leave them a little “me time” and quality time for their beloved ones. Given that financial burdens that they have been bearing, switch to more cushy jobs is seemingly not a feasible move, probably causing them being trapped in a vicious circle. Another reason could be the low productivity of employees, particularly entry-level and junior ones, which the inadequacy of expertise and essential skills could be to blame for. These people often spend more time than expected getting an assigned task done. Some measures should be applied in an endeavor to reach their desired balance. Firstly, those whose work intensity hinders them from regularly doing their life activities should build passive income streams; in other words, they are better off creating a source of revenue that they receive without active involvement. Granted, It is not an easy feat because more often than not, it is beyond their field. This measure, however, is arguably the most effective one in the long run, as evidenced by the wealth and happiness of millionaires worldwide. Secondly, instead of working hard, people should work smart to reduce working time through equipping themselves with more job-related skills. This, as a result, would free them up to enjoy their personal lives. In conclusion, I opine that work-life misbalance is attributed to the intensive work and prolonged working time. The key to address this problem is that people should work on their productivity and passive income source.