. Nowadays age discrimination in any company has become a common trend. Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

One of the most conspicuous trends in today’s corporate world is an increased bias in favour of the youth, thanks to their age, flexibility and adaptability to modern working environment. As such, there are both merits and demerits to this trend, although I am of the opinion that the latter outdo the former. This practice is of myriad drawbacks. On the one hand, no matter how energetic and enthusiastic they are, with insufficient knowledge and exposure about their work, young employees often find it hard to take right decisions based on their limited experience unlike their senior counterparts. On the other, by having these vulnerable and whimsical youths in place of the experienced staff that have a wealth of knowledge and expertise gained in their long-haul career, a company will suffer astronomically. It hardly needs mention that choosing young employees over experienced ones is only likely to augment inefficiency and affect productivity. Besides, training young employees would mean that the employers will have to spend more time, money and resources, which can affect the generation of revenues significantly. If modern technology is what senior employees lag behind in, they can easily overcome this shortcoming by taking relevant training in their respective field. From what has been discussed, one can conclude that with all the skills and invaluable experience at work, old employees are equally as effective as their younger peers, if not more. Therefore, the practice of discriminatory policies towards a specific age group is ungrounded indeed.