Nowadays, a lot of people use credit cards for online shopping. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The use of plastic money is blossoming among many people throughout the world. I believe it to be extremely disadvantageous, not only because of identity theft, but also because of spending beyond anyone’s means which is difficult to pay back. This essay will explore how these mega drawbacks have the potential to outshine any benefit. There are multiple disadvantages of credit card usage for e-commerce. Firstly, a major drawback associated with this development is that hackers hack the personal information of the users. Cybercriminals assume fake identities and deliberately use the stolen information to gain financial benefits. Take an example of India, where the number of credit card fraud victims is burgeoning due to the theft of personal information. Thus, the drawback of information theft clearly overshadows any benefit. Secondly, another major flaw related to the use of the electronic payment system is the increase of debt upon the people. Many people land in a lot of debt, which became difficult for them to return because they keep on buying unwanted things without thinking of the repercussions. For instance, the American Bank has recently released a list of defaulters, who does not return their money used by credit cards and sentenced to the penitentiary. Hence, this benefit can almost single-handedly undermine any advantage. However, the only minor advantage I can relate to online payment is convenience, but this benefit is extremely rare and elusive because using the credit card for bill payment contains a lot of risks, due to the fact that sharing personal information is more likely to be misused by hackers. To sum up, I believe that the disadvantages of using card money for shopping in terms of cyber-crimes and have the potential to outshine any advantage of ease it brings.