Nowadays a large amount of advertising is aimed at children. Parents object to such pressure on children. But some advertisers claim that there is useful information in these advertisements.

Currently, many companies tend to choose children as their target market to advertise their products. While some advertisers argue that these advertisements are informative, I personally believe that this marketing strategy negatively affects youngsters and their parents. On the one hand, there are some reasons to believe that advertisements aimed at children contain useful information. Firstly, thanks to commercials, parents may be aware of the products that are useful for their children. For example, some nutritious brands of milk are widely advertised on TV, which parents can consider buying for their children if they are confused by the wide variety of brands available in the market. Secondly, since advertisements often have creative content in order to get people’s attention, children can be interested in this marketing industry if they are exposed to advertisements regularly. As a result, they may work as an innovative advertiser when they grow up. On the other hand, I believe that choosing children as the target market to introduce products is harmful to both these individuals and their parents. As the young are inexperienced, they may fully believe that the information in advertisements is true. If they are attracted by these exaggerated commercials, they will be likely to insist their parents to buy them products which are unnecessary and sometimes even unhealthy. For instance, we can easily find advertisements of different brands of instant noodles and soft drinks either on TV or on the internet, and these consumption goods are often known as unhealthy. If they are advertised in an attractive way, youngsters will put pressure on their parents to buy them these things