Now-a-days people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of the news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern days, significant number of people has social media account to connect and be updated on the news. Although there could be disadvantages of using this platform, I strongly agree that disadvantages far outweigh the advantages. Let’s discuss further. Social media are widely popular not only in younger generation but also in general population. A number of studies shows that 80% of population in the U. S. has various social media accounts, for instance, Facebook, Instagram and, Tiktok. Each individual spent significant amount using this platform. This platform also serves as a vital form of communication with our friends and family. A fraction of kids use it as entertainment while others for education purposes. In fact, majority of educational and government institution has their own social media account. To illustrate how population this platform are, most well know celebrities and politicians has twitter accounts to convey messages to what they called followers. Social media may seem critical in the modern world, however they also posed a big risk in the society. Significantly, there is no governing body that looks after countless social media accounts. It is challenging to differentiate genuine from fake accounts. Furthermore, information through this platform cannot be verified that result in dissemination of fake news. Majority believed in the news without validating the source. Having social media accounts makes us vulnerable to numerous culprits in our society. In conclusion, social media may seem beneficial and advantageous to most of us, undoubtedly, we cannot deny the fact that these disadvantages far outweigh the advantages. Each of us should recognize the responsibility that accompany with signing up this this kind of platform.