Northern Italy and information about the region

Northern Italy This is cultural and geographical region in the north of Italy and consists of eight administrative regions: Aosta Valley, Piedmont, Liguria, Lombardy, Emilia-Romagna, Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia and Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol. As of 2014, its population was 27, 801, 460. The area of Northern Italy is about 120, 260 km2. For statistic purposes, the terms Northwest Italy and Northeast Italy for two of Italy's five statistical regions are used mostly. The Northern Italy is surrounded by the Alps on North and West and the Apennine Mountains on South. The Venetian Plain and the valley of the Po, the largest river in Italy, which flows 652 km, are situated in between the mountains. On the foothills of the Alps there are a number of lakes, the largest of which is Garda. Cities in the north like Milan, Turin and Genoa, mainly because of the port, built an industrial triangle of manufacturing centers. The Northern Italy is the most industrialized and developed area of Italy, which boosts the economy of the country, The city of Verona has a Roman amphitheater, which is used as a venue for the world-famous Verona Opera festival, and is also famous for being the setting for Shakespeare’s most famous play ‘Romeo and Juliet. ’ Venice is an archipelago of 118 islands connected by enchanting canals and bridges. Its famous landmarks such as St. Mark’s Square & Basilica, the main public square in Venice and one of the most famous in the world, the stunning Gothic building of Ca’ d’Oro, and the imposing Palazzo Ducale, must be seen if you travel to the Northern Italy and especially to Venice. Milan is also know as the fashion capital of the World, but however it has to surprise you with more than just fashion. In Milan, you’ll also find Leonardo da Vinci’s iconic mural “The Last Supper. ”, which depicts the Last Supper of Jesus with his apostles.