Nonverbal communication is a powerful communication tool to build better relationships

Body language is a strong conversation tool to make our relationship better because these three reasons: repetition, substitution, complementing. Firstly, substitution is the important roles of nonverbal communication. Some gestures can replace words and our expression becomes richer and listener feel closer. For example, if we shrug and shook our head and say I have no idea everytime someone askes, then we can just do gesture and don’t say anything in informal case. Secondly, Repetition is easily found in daily life. We use gesture repeat the word meaning to emphasize our opinion and make listener more belive in our word. Such as, I say good job and give a thumbs up to compliment. Finally, complementing is the most important role. In many situations, gestures and posture help words. Speaking with the right action will have a more effective impact on the communicator. To illustrate, when standing upright, leaning forward, people will understand that you are approachable, receptive and friendly. In sum, nonverbal communicate is a powerful communication tool to build better relationships.