Nigerian Universities are often on strike. What do you think are the best ways to address the problems facing Nigeria’s current educational system? Nigerian Universities are often on strike. What do you think are the best ways to address the problems facing Nigeria’s current educational system?

Nigerian Universities are often on strike. What do you think are the best ways to address the problems facing Nigeria’s current educational system? Nigerian Universities are often on strike. What do you think are the best ways to address the problems facing Nigeria’s current educational system? The fact that the Nigerian Universities are often on strike has become a reoccurring trend in the country as this has led to the continuous disruption of the academic calendar. Twenty one years into new democratic experience, the universities continue to face exactly the same challenges they faced in 1999. The problems facing Nigerians current educational system ranges from; poor funding, dilapidated infrastructure and poor training facilities, unavailability of research funds and the inability to compete globally among others. The Academic Staff Union of Universities and Non Academic Staff Union in a bid to make their demands known embark on strike. The following are the recommended ways to address the problems currently facing the Nigerian educational system; Firstly, the Nigerian government should give adequate attention to the proper funding of the educational sector. United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) recommends 26% budgetary allocation to education. Secondly, the govenment should ensure teachers' salary scale, remuneration among other financial entitlement are reviewed and improved periodically as this will increase their productivity at work. Thirdly, schools and universities management should come up with programmes and conferences that will improve the productivity of their staff in order to have better teaching experiences. Furthermore, the schools and universities managements are expected to utilise government funds for the improvement of the educational environment and they should be held accountable for their financial activities. Finally, the desire to have an effective educational system is not far fetched. If these solutions are applied, the Nigerian educational system can take its place in the hall of fame.