Newspapers have become an enormous influence on people's ideas and opinions. Why is this the case? Is it a desirable or undesirable situation?

Newspapers are one of the crucial tool to provide information among radio, television and social media. It is undeniable fact that newspapers have huge impact on perception of its readers due to several reasons and this phenomenon is beneficial for society with some drawbacks associated with it. To begin with, there are various causes of this trend such as affordability and availability. To explicate, newspapers are the cheapest source available to know what is happening around them at local as well as at globe level. Due to their affordable price its readers are more in numbers in comparison to other sources of information. Moreover, wide reach of printed media is also contributing factor to fuel this trend. To elaborate, newspapers are only source of information for people living in far flung areas where electricity and internet is limited. So, due to great number of readers newspapers are impacting the way in which its users think. Apart from it, this scenario is affecting lives of individuals in a positive way due to awareness. To clarify, newspapers make its readers acquainted with latest issues, trends and scams along with any campaign run by governments for the benefit of their respective countries. In this way, people can remain up to date and protect themselves from various precarious circumstances which might arouse due to unawareness of issues. For instance, a survey conducted by Reserve Bank of India in 2018 revealed that there was reduction in number of bank related frauds after an awareness drive run by it which was advertised in all dailies. However, there are some disadvantageous of this happening such as decreased harmony among citizens. To elaborate, some newspapers print biased opinions and news which affects the decision making process of people. Some individuals blindly trust on specific newspapers which caused indifference among the readers as people build their own judgement resulting atmosphere of hatred ideologies. To conclude, widespread distribution network of newspapers and their price are two major factors for affecting society’s perception in both positive or negative way.