Newspapers and books are outdated. Why do some people believe this? What is your opinion?

Books and newspaper have revolutionized the outlook of people by bringing about a sea change in the way individuals think, live and work. But, the emergence of electronic media such as radio, television, computers and computer-based technology make some think that books and newspapers have become obsolete. This essay, however, does not agree with this view since they will have their relevance for all days to come. Habitually, most people depend on books, newspaper and television for news and entertainment. However, with the emergence of the Internet, the scenario is changing. Now more people depend on televisions and the Internet for news, entertainment and information. Many authoritative books in different disciplines are now available on the Internet. And, some reputed magazines in the West are now published on the Internet only. These e-books are similar to conventional books as regards to form and presentation. This transformation in trends makes many think that the conventional newspapers and books are outmoded (=old fashioned). In contrast, the fact remains that the amount of information one gets from television is negligible. For instance, in the UK, an hour of television news broadcast covers only as much news as covered by the front page of a broadcast. In addition, in a world, in which digital divide remains a stark reality, to argue that books and newspapers are outdated is preposterous. As long as the human race continues to exist on earth, books and newspapers will also continue to prevail because many people derive some pleasure from reading these in the conventional way. Briefly, many people are more comfortable with electronic media than with paper media. Both argue that books and newspapers are disappearing because of electronic media is quite meaningless.