News on media tends to focus on problems and emergencies in individuals and society rather than positive development, which has harmful effects on individuals and society.

It is true that media prefer concentrating on negative events rather than positive incidents. Some people argue that this behavior has unhealthy impact on society. In my perspective, I partially agree with this view because reporting the drawback of the society has its pros and cons. On the one hand, exposing the dark side of society to the public has its positive side because this can make more people understand the illnesses of the society and finally tackle them. Since there are always some shortcomings in a real society, people often encounter many social problems, for example educational inequality, economic inequality, juvenile delinquency, obesity and etc. However, not everyone can meet all these problems and have deep understanding about them. Therefore, many people may probably overlook these issues because they have never experienced all these difficulties. Media plays crucial roles in promoting these social topics to these people who understate the extent of these problems. Without media, many people would not pay attention to these issues, thereby these problems would not be addressed as few people notice them means insufficient social resources are invested into these areas. However, the appearance of media has changed this situation which make more resources be invested to solve these problems, thereby make the dark side of society disappear. On the other hand, reporting negative information would cause people lose confidence to the society. Since encountering the dark side of the society is not common in daily life, ordinary people should feel positive to the society. However, many terrible events are widely reported by media, which cause the public immerse into a depressive atmosphere, thereby changing the perspective of ordinary people to the society from positive to negative. Therefore, people would think that the society is full of danger and crime, which cause distrust between people. This would push the entire society into the trust crisis. In conclusion, media should balance the percentage of positive and negative content in order to maximize the positive impact on the society.