1. Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Education is often falsely attributed to a propitious career across various countries. Educational institutions usually advertise their most popular programs by drawing attention to the pay scales of their alumni and students are influenced to tread the same path in hopes of securing a successful career. However, this practice has only led to multitudes of students being unhappy with their field of study and having a mediocre career. This essay will be attempting to discuss the adverse effects of educational institutions encouraging students to opt for educational disciplines that guarentee a profitable career. The process of choosing a field of study is a daunting one to most students. It is a decision that students take after several careful considerations. Although hoping for a well paid job after graduation can be one of the many driving factors, it should not be the pivotal reason for a students choice. The job market is ever fluctuating and today’s ‘hot’ job can loose it’s popularity rather swiftly and the inverse holds true as well. For instance, a computer science graduate had minimal prospects during the early 1980’s in the Indian job market. This got rapidly reversed during the 1990s era when multiple computer science companies entered the job market causing an immediate demand for computer science graduates. Furthermore, a students interest in a particular domain can even inspire them towards revitalising that field of study and creating oppurutunities not only for themselves but also for those pursuing similar disciplines. Additionally, a career that doesn’t provide a certain level of job satisfaction albeit being profitable is not generally preferred by most people. For example, people who work in jobs that they choose bot for their personal interest but for the money aspect are generally those who suffer from depression. Thus educational institutions must advise their students to take up those fileds of study that fascinate them highly and not be driven by hopes of lucrative careers.