News media is important in our society. Why is it so important? Is it’s influence positive or negative? Give your own opinion with reasons and examples. Write about 250 words.

It is believed that, at present, news media is playing a vital role in our community as it is providing information about latest facts around the world along with alarming people about certain risk factors and raising public awareness. I believe the positive influences of current news media is more than the negative influence. First of all, current news media are bringing us latest developments about different facts from all over the world which is helping us to keep up to date. We can know about latest incidents about politics, economy, sports, science and etc. of all the countries due to the availability of so many news channels. For instance, we were able to know about American politics and election results along with the aftermath of the election results through the news media. Secondly, news media play essential role in raising the public awareness about hazardous facts by broadcasting those issues. It explains the dangers of certain issues which can cause health hazard for the people. By mentioning the necessary steps people should be aware of, they are increasing public awareness and safety. For example during the Covid-19 pandemic, the influence of news media is considered to be outstanding as they are continuously trying to make people aware of the benefits of wearing masks at outdoors, they are mentioning about the benefits of social distancing in this hard time. So the influence of news media should be considered as a positive impact on the society. On the other hand, there are some negative impacts news media are having in our society as sometimes they provide wrong information about some stuffs. Due to the growth in number of news media outlets, it has become rather competitive among the news channels. Most often without fact checking some news channels provide false information to the public which raises certain issues in society. For example during the pandemics, some news channels provided wrong information about the vaccines which hampered a lot in the attempts of the governments to fight against the pandemic. In this perspective, news media can be negative influence in the society. To sum it up, I believe that the positive impacts of news media is more than the negative impacts they cause. While some of them are providing wrong and false information, they can not outweigh all the positive impacts of news media like the public awareness they have inflicted on society during the difficult times of the pandemic.