Human beings tend to copy others. With this fashion and consumerism grow.

In the modern era, individuals are inclined towards looking trendy. Owing to this, they imitate others whether the affluent strata or celebrities; thus, this practice makes a significant contribution in the development of fashion and consumerism. I agree to a great extent that this progress is the outcome of human's copying behavior. To commence with, the prime factor attributed for the growth of fashion industry is that everyone wants to look appealing to others, thereby people strive to purchase the dresses worn by the eminent personalities so that their acquaintances learn that they have immense money to buy exorbitant clothes. This practice, as a result, provides them a feeling of contentment. Besides this, if a lady is wearing an outfit in which she is looking gorgeous, then the likelihood of the viewers buying and trying the same dress would be more. On consumerism basis, because of sufficient income, people can now avail even the prohibitively branded products, therefore, when the professionals watch that their colleagues have the latest model of androids, then they also purchase a new one since they do not want to lag behind in any situation. In India, for instance, numerous adolescents purchase new iphones just to flaunt about themselves even if their old mobile is working appropriately. On the other hand, fashion and consumerism sectors are reaching at the apex not only because of the imitation but the westernization and untiring efforts of the employees of these fields are also responsible. Customers solely buy those items that are according to their requirements, and the workers endeavor to assure that they design each product by keeping the budget and necessities of each class in their mind. To conclude, although people are becoming materialistic, they must shop according to themselves; otherwise, they may end up in debt which would have detrimental impact upon their minds.