News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do you think that there is too much emphasis on bad news these days?

Whether it is to broadcast news on television or to publish newspapers, the contents are solely decided by news editors of the respective company. The decision is made upon careful consideration of various factors. Due to this, the emphasis maybe placed upon every kind of news and bad news is no exception as well. There are a number of variables which substantially impacts what news are published and transmitted. The factor that plays an immense role in this impact is profit as almost every company currently out there is strictly established with the sole purpose of profit making. In order to achieve maximum profit, they may either prioritize the customer's interests or even stoop to the level of spreading political propagandas depending upon whichever maximizes their sales or TRP. For instance, about a year ago, both USA and Russia's media outlets spread out many political news countering each other without any determining truth. As everyone in the world was focusing in how they reacted to each other, there was tremendous increase in views and sales. Furthermore, how much has the news been viral recently, also affects their decision. It can be clear from the fact that, a news that needs to be given justice is normally set aside by the one that was more viral than its counterpart. It is due to the fact that, the news editors mostly hunt for spicy news to hype up the viewers rather than providing the justice to others. To illustrate this point, nowadays, the construction of Gautam Buddha international stadium needs immediate funding but the news outlets of Nepal is highlighting only the political conflict going on between two parties because of the trend. Regarding the bad news, numerous evidences can be found about the news media placing more weight on bad news rather than good news. The reason goes without saying that is; search for spiciness. Because of the fact that, people are more inclined to slandering others and criticizing them than appreciating something, is what's fueling them to broadcast these news. For example, in every 10 news we see, half of them usually features bad kind of news and only about 2 or 3 of them is about a good activity. To conclude, profit margin and the reach of news among common people is what makes the editors consider what news to publish. And I strongly believe that bad news are featured more nowadays than it used to be. It all owes to the fact that people are running behind gaining popularity through these sorts.