Many countries now have people from different cultures and ethnic groups. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Stepping into the 21st century, multi-cultural diversities and multi-ethnic societies have its limitation as well as merits, and from my point of view, there are many reasons explaining why people tend to emigrate from this country to another. With the aim of obtaining a better living standard like advanced healthcare services, multiple career prospects or even generous subsidies, some of the developed countries are likely to become ideal ends of many immigrants over the world. Taking American as a typical example, this country has become a dreamland of migrants who want to seek a well-paid job as well as a homogeneous society. Furthermore, their offspring may acquire a better educational system as well to receive a comprehensive development. Regarding the benefits, people from various cultures use multiple different ways to make a better life in their new home. To make it clear, the inflow of immigrants such as high achieving scholars, engineers or other highly skilled professionals creates conductive competition, innovation as well as productivity, key elements in any globalized economy. Also, people may have chances to broaden their horizon by exposing a larger audience to the traditions of their own country. However, some people stick to their own ethnic group and do not interact with other groups, thus creating the opposite of united society. Somehow, this leads to racial discrimination in several areas, especially in America where has still existed the distinction between the White and the Black man. In conclusion, although having lots of benefits, multi-cultures' drawbacks should not be forgotten. Personally, I firmly believe the government's control plays a vital role to make sure the smooth running of society.