New technologies have changed the way people spend their free time. Do the ads of this outweigh disads?

In recent times, there has been a huge controversy surrounding how kids use their leisure time due to the advent of novel technological devices. Despite some obvious advantages of this trend, I personally believe that these are outweighed by the disadvantages. On the one hand, it is clear that there are two major benefits when people use technological gadgets in their spare time. First and foremost, technology can help people explore the outside world without limitations. For example, at the push of a button, people can find the answer to their question on free search sites like Google, Bing, Ecosia, and so on. Because those conveniences have allowed them to expand their knowledge about all aspects of life. Second, people satisfy with a different way of entertainment compared to conventional games such as watching movies, listening to music, or learning different languages. That helps them unwind and alleviate stress after a nerve-racking day at school. On the other hand, I believe that the demerits are more significant than such merits. To start with, it may have a detrimental impact on people’s physical health. This is because they spend hours on end playing computer games or phones, have no time to engage in physical activities, and do not contribute to healthy sleep. As a result, people’s health would be negatively affected such as eyestrain, obesity, or cardiovascular disease. Second, Children are readily influenced by violent visuals that are all too common on the Internet if they are not supervised by their parents. Indeed, minors are too young to distinguish between right and wrong behaviors. As a result, breaking the law is simple for them. Many studies have linked the rise in popularity of technology to the rise in the number of juvenile criminals. In conclusion, after weighing the pros and cons, I would argue that although new technology causes some problems in human life bring about some possible benefits, the downsides are far more significant.