New technologies and ways of selling and buying are transforming people's lives

The advancement of new technologies are modifying the lives of consumers in many aspects. Many people agree that technology has enabled customers to adjust their shopping habits while others claim that the traditional shopping culture is still preserved. There are valid opinions in both sides which I will consider now. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the contribution of technologies to the market has adjusted consumers’ habits. The predilection for online shopping is becoming more and more popular in the society. The rapid pace of modern life limits people’s time for personal activity, which is pushing people to utilize their time more appropriately to maximize their efficiency. Therefore, many people have turned to online buying sites that is more time-saving and more convenient such as Ebay or Amazon. For instance, during the Covid-19 pandemic, this method of consumption had perfectly replaced traditional method to assure the smooth circulation of commodities when people had to self-quarantine. On the other hand, a lot of people refute that the majority of population still prefer traditional ways of buying and selling. Exacting consumers usually turn to traditional shopping as this method, despite being more time-consuming and unflexible, helps them to consider the product’s quality more deliberate. This results in more satisfactory experience for customers with the product they buy. Moreover, window shopping is a popular pastime and leisure activity of many people. Overall, I feel that the development of technologies have positively improve people’s life quality in many ways. In the near future, this innovative form of buying and selling is potentially playing an improtant role in the market and transforming consumers’ lives.