Factors that affect the food choices of consumers

As a result of population growth, there has been an increase in food production. Due to the advancements in the industry, the use of food additives has increased too. Although price had influence on food choices, nowadays factors that affect the customer’s purchasing decisions has changed because of chemical additives that are found in food. In the past few years, individuals have little time to prepare food so companies were encouraged to produce ready and semi-ready foods under poor and unhygienic circumstances. These eating habits led to serious digestive disorders, respiratory problems and even skin problems. For that reason, people are mostly focused on how the foods have been produced instead of paying attention to the prices. There are also other factors that influence people when buying food including diets, sensory aspects and cultural influences. Ingredients in the food is really important while deciding what to buy for many people including vegans, vegetarians and allergic individuals. Vegans and vegetarians check the ingredients list to see if it contains animal derived products, however nowadays it is easier as many supermarkets are labelling their products as vegan or vegetarian. To Hindus, cow is a sacred animal so they don’t eat beef. In Judaism and Islam, it is prohibited to eat pork and its products. These examples illustrate how culture influences the food choices. Taste is also a major influence on food behaviour. Taste includes appearance, smell and texture of the food. From childhood we develop preferences towards food and they can be changed over time. In conclusion, price might influence consumer’s purchasing choice, however people tend to pay more attention to the production environments. Other than price, there are also other important factors that affect food choices.