New Homes Are Needed But The Only Space Available Is In The Countryside

Although the demand for housing is increasing, there is no open space available for their construction except in the countryside. However, some people argue that the countryside should be protected from construction activity. I disagree with them. In my opinion, it is important to build homes on the outskirts of cities. First and foremost, cities have become over crowded due to urbanization and free space is only available in the countryside. More and more people are migrating to cities for a better future and hence the space available for construction has already been used. To meet this demand for land, people are turning to the countryside. Many customers also want to buy homes in the countryside because they are more affordable. Also, pollution is not really an issue in rural areas. Hence, people opting to live in the countryside can buy spacious homes built amidst natural greenery. In addition to this, if construction is done in the areas away from the city we can reduce the negative effects of urbanization. Due to overcrowding in cities, people face not only traffic congestion but also pollution. For example, in a South Indian city, a 40% improvement in air quality was observed after they started building homes in the peripheral areas of the city instead of in the centre. Thus, to improve the quality of life in the urban area it is a better solution. However, there should be strict rules regarding the construction of homes in the countryside. Homes should be built with proper ventilation and there should be vegetation zones and free spaces between houses to prevent the bad impact of construction in those areas. In conclusion, as population is continuously moving to cities for better prospects, there is a simultaneous increase in the demand for shelters. Therefore, the countryside can be utilised for this purpose and to curb the effects of overcrowding in cities.