Some people think that any citizen who reaches the age of 18, he/she will be capable of holding driving license and can drive a vehicle on his/her own. Others think that it’s too early to allow those youth to drive and they can’t be permitted to drive unless they become 25 years old at least.

Some people think that any citizen who reaches the age of 18, he/she will be capable of holding a driving license and can drive a vehicle on his/her own. Others think that it’s too early to allow those youth to operate and they can’t be become to drive unless they become 25 years old at least. In my essay, I will try to analyze the reasons on both sides of the argument to come to a reasonable conclusion. Many feel that the age of 18 is suitable enough to allow people to have their driving licenses. They adopt this claim as they see anyone at the age of 18 will have all the mental and physical abilities to take the responsibility of driving without any risk on the others’ lives. In addition, at 18 years, the reflexes of person are fully developed and therefore car driving should not be a problem technically if safety norms are followed. Despite the argument above, it is difficult to argue with the fact that some people at that age still behave in a reckless way and can’t bear the responsibility so far. To illustrate, a recent survey conducted in the four metropolitan cities of India showed that most of the bike accidents over the last 5 years have occurred in the teenage group and the prime reason for the accident was the violation of driving rules like wearing seatbelts. As a consequence, allowing people under 25 to drive is not only catastrophe for themselves only, but it also endangers the life of the others in the same community. By way of conclusion, I think the age only can’t be the criteria of allowing or banning anyone from driving. A lot of other factors must be taken into consideration while determining the appropriate age for something like that. For example, anyone who wants to bear a driving license, he/she should first pass comprehensive driving course controlled by the government in order to make sure of his/her eligibility to hold such license and not to endanger the others lives.