It is argued that mobile phones and other electronic devices have no place in the classroom.

Cell phones and many other devices such as laptops, i-pads have significantly changed the way pupils learn and understand. It is believed that use of such learning-tools can be distracting for students. However, how these appliances affect us completely depends on how we use them and for how long we stick to them. In my opinion, these tools provide help to teachers as well to learners as many learning aids can be incorporated into these devices and help in connecting teacher and student. Use of Android phones and other devices such as calculators, i-pads etcetera can be beneficial to the learners in many ways as they can prove to be a great learning aid. It is a well-known fact that pupils learn better by looking at videos than at the pictures. Animations made out of such technology are a great way to understand high school topics such as working of motor or generator which are very difficult to make understand students using pictures and text only. Furthermore, phonetic chart, pronunciation audios can be added by the language teachers and diagrams, maps, charts can also be downloaded in these devices to enhance learning. Additionally, this technology has increased connectivity in a classroom like situations, it is much easier to distribute classroom notes and homework in an email or on a website than in printed form. On the contrary, it can cause hassle in the classroom as well. For example, it can divert the minds of children towards other things such as social networking, mobile games etcetera. Moreover, the use of these tools can cause hassle in the classroom as well if there are no regulations on how to use these devices. In conclusion, mobile phones should be allowed in schools despite their disadvantages because their merits are more important than their demerits. Some rules can be imposed to regulate the use of cellular phones, i-pads, laptops etcetera so that decorum of the school is not disturbed.