necessity of freedom of speech

The limit of freedom is always a popular topic of discussion in the current world. Freedom of speech is necessary or it should be within some imaginary boundaries is always a debatable argument. This essay will discuss about the necessity of the freedom of speech in the modern free society. The primary reason to have an opportunity to express the feelings of a citizen is important, since that will give him a sense of self existence. For example, if a common man have to follow the orders of powerful people without raising any questions, his life will be robotic. Even though he know that it is wrong, the fear of oppression will make him follow the crowd. This will eventually turns out to be another version of slavery where he just do whatever the masters say. Indeed, it will make the population into accepting anything the leaders blabber and they will lose their conscience and may end up in any extreme situations like war or terrorism. In a modern democratic free society, the people should be able to express their thoughts. They should have the ability to analyze and take informed decisions. For example, if the citizens do not express their thoughts and choose the right leader, it may lead to catastrophic disasters. History have lots of examples for such situations. Everyone knows how Adolf Hitler's Germany started the second world war. That society did not have the freedom of speech and everyone was under the military observation. Whoever raised their voice was oppressed and it eventually lead to a dictatorship from democracy. This is the reason why the freedom of speech is becoming extremely important in a society. Freedom of speech should always be utilized effectively. It does not means the freedom to abuse or hurt another person. It should be always healthy discussions where the ideas should compete so that everyone can understand which ideology is better for the society. It is an important thing that needs to be exercised carefully. Even though there are situations when few people consider it as freedom to say anything, it is always beneficial for a community to have this freedom compared to which we are restricted completely.