Nations should cooperate with one another to solve environmental problems.

Human’s economic and industrial activities have had a negative impact on the environment. Since every country has contributed to the deterioration of Mother Nature, every nation ought to play a part in the attempt of to control damage caused by human activity. However, many countries are still refraining from joining such a co-operation. Environment is the concern of everyone. Since human’s existence depends upon a clean environment, we must tackle its problems together. Otherwise, ignoring the negative impact of human’s activity on the environment would ultimately lead to a disaster that can never be contained. At that point the damage would be irreversible and our own existence will become under threat. Fortunately, countries around the world have demonstrated a high level of co-operation that is embodied in the Kyoto protocol. Such a protocol compels signatory countries to greatly reduce their greenhouse emissions. However, many countries do not seem to show a genuine intention to co-operate. The United states view any attempt to compromise the volume of its economy to be a vicious attack on its economic progress and political influence. Thus, countries such as the US are reluctant to join any environmental co-operation scheme, fearing that it would compel the US to with new requirements at the expense of its astounding industrial base. To sum up, I believe that the environment is the case of everyone and its problems ought to be tackled together. Failure to do so will result in a disaster with dire consequences that may jeopardize our own existence. After all, we want economic prosperity that is not at the expense of the environment.