Nama saya Wina Dian Savitri. Saya seorang dosen di Fakultas Bioteknologi Universitas Surabaya, Indonesia. Saya menulis untuk melamar posisi Ph. D dalam Interaksi Mikroba Tumbuhan di Universitas Amsterdam, Belanda. qkllw

My name is Wina Dian Savitri. I am a lecturer at the Faculty of Biotechnology in University of Surabaya, Indonesia. I am writing to apply for the Ph. D position in Plant-microbe Interactions at the University of Amsterdam, Netherlands. I fell in love in plants science since I was at high school, but I was unlucky that during my Bachelor study at the Biology Department at the Airlangga University, that I could not join the plant tissue culture project because the laboratory was too crowded. But then, when I took my Master study at the Kyungpook National University, South Korea, I had a chance to study about plants. My dream came true! My Professor’s project at that time was about viroid elimination from chrysanthemum plants. At that time, I enjoyed working with plants by using tissue culture methods. The projects aimed to get rid of the Chrysanthemum Stunt Viroid (CSVd) from the infected plants inside the bottle. The combination of cold temperature and antiviral agents were tested on the growing shoot apical meristem. Fortunately, the treatments were successful to eliminate the viroid from the plantlets. We used RT-PCR to test the viroid inside the plants. When I got accepted as a lecturer and researcher at the University of Surabaya, I was assigned at the Plant Biotechnology Laboratory. My colleagues were all experts in plant tissue culture and breeding of paddy rice, Indonesian orchids, and also Korean ginseng. I thought that it will be nice and important for me to be an expert too. I chose to be an expert in plant pathology because there is still no one at the Laboratory who has this kind of expertise. In addition, to understand plant pathology more deeply can solve various problems in agriculture as well as forestry. As Indonesia is a agrarian country and there is an elevating cases of deforestation, it is important to create plants that can grow fast and plants that are resistant to pathogens attack. My on going experiments are about bacterial endophyte isolation from mangrove plant and right now we are trying to observe the mangrove’s effects towards endophytes injection. Since endophyte has many benefit for plants, for example to increase plant’s immunity towards pathogens, the production of plant hormones, siderophore production, and so on. In couple of months we will continue our research on spontaneous mutant production from endophytic bacteria to track the plant endophyte in host plants. I see in your advertisement that the The Swammerdam Institute for Life Sciences (SILS) is mostly working in molecular plant pathology. I eiger to study more about this subject and I hope that you will consider me as one of the candidates. Thank you for your consideration and attention. I look forward to hearing from you soon.