Tourism is a good thing for all

In recent years, tourism has progressively asserted its significant and pivotal role in the global economy and other industries. Thanks to tourism, the majority of economic problems in many countries have been solved by reducing unemployment, boosting revenue, and attracting more foreign investors. Likewise, this industry helps a country to promote its image by offering it a platform to express itself and build on its profile in the world. According to the Statista website, in 2019, up to 6. 3 million tourists came to Bali, which was a secret paradise with some locals and pro-suffers. As a result, Bali gradually evolved into a spectacular tropical getaway where everyone desires to come and enjoy their holidays with great waves and shimmering water in the sunlight. In other words, this industry has catalysed Bali’s and Indonesia’s popularity to the point of explosion. Regardless of how beneficial tourism is, we must weigh the downside of this industry. In this essay, I will expound on how tourism has a negative impact on our world. To be more explicit, I would say ‘conventional tourism’ rather than simply ‘tourism’. The most obvious and major concern is the environment’s degradation. I’m sure we all know that the environment is crucial and indispensable for human beings since it supplies us with almost every essential thing that we need to exist. Sadly, humans appear to overlook and deny its merit. Not only that, but humans also ‘injure’ it in a variety of ways. We tend to be against anything to obtain our benefit and interest. Aren’t we treacherous and egocentric? In the same way, to satisfy the demand of being entertained and relaxed in a travelling destination, people tend to choose conventional tourism even though they have many alternatives. They choose it because they assume the alternatives cannot bring them the same level of satisfaction as conventional tourism. Just to give you an idea of how people think in that way, by participating in this sort of tourism, tourists have a chance to ‘get close to nature in detrimental and destructive ways such as observing coral from a very close distance or illegally fishing. As reported by BBC News, in Australia, coral reefs are under threat and in Maya Bay of Thailand, by 2018, the beach was closed as over 80% of the coral reef were destroyed in 2008. Another aspect that I would like to draw your attention to is climate change and some of the other serious impacts. Every year, tourism contributes to 5% of global greenhouse gas emissions and by 2030, CO2 emissions are estimated to climb from 1, 597 million tons to 1, 998 million tons. Can you visualize how humans are ruining nature? I suppose these numbers seem to tell us that nature is imploring and hoping we hear its plea. In conclusion, tourism ‘hurts’ nature a lot by our self-fish actions so we all need to come up with constructive alternatives. Furthermore, conventional tourism fortuitously impacts local people’s lives and cause them to lose their national identity. I strongly believe that each country and region has its own distinctive lifestyles and traditions. Both of which are the locals’ national pride. However, as the tourism industry become prevalent and attracts more tourists to visit, the identity seems to be gradually diluting and vanishing. For example, in the site where I live, in 2018, my city has welcomed 7. 5 million foreign visitors, accounting for 83% of the population. When I went to a shopping mall in Saigon, which was the centre of HCM city, it was easy to catch sight of foreigners and hear many foreign languages. Initially, I felt interested because this was a chance for me to try to integrate into a new community. But I quickly realized that the food stalls and food vendors were gradually disappearing, and it was hard to find people who sit on the pavements to enjoy food. Instead, countless cafés and restaurants have popped up. Despite the fact that Saigon looked more modern, I felt a bit of sadness because sitting on pavements to enjoy food is one of our cultural beauties, which demonstrates how homely Vietnamese are. According to BTN News, due to the location’s development, young Balinese people feel as if their home is excessively intruded on by numerous tourists and that they live in another country. Based on my experience and some young Balinese’s thoughts, it is evident that as this industry develops, our sites appear to be intruded excessively and cultures are being diluted. To sum up, everything that has been stated, I would like to say that we should no longer prefer, support, and promote conventional tourism because of its negative influence on the environment as well as our lives. I’m sure no one can stomach having so many people come in and out of their homes without any restrictions. Furthermore, no matter how beneficial nature is, the mistreatment of nature is still performed in self-fish actions of humans. That’s why the world has devised an innovative alternative which is sustainable tourism. This is a method that helps both visitors and tourist areas with their demands or problem and it is practically harmless for both. In other words, it strikes a balance between human benefits and environmental conservation. Overall, for a green world, I highly recommend you choose sustainable tourism instead of conventional tourism.