education has been a heated debate among educationalists

Over the last few decades, education has been a heated debate among educationalists. While some claim that tertiary education students should only stick to practical subjects like science or technology, others advocate for students’ freedom when selecting their subjects. Despite some advantages of obligating students to choose fixed topics, I believe they should have the liberty to pick their favored curriculums. Allowing university students to opt for practical subjects associating with science and technology can, indeed, have specific benefits to students and the nation’s future. Suppose students are comprehensively provided with thorough knowledge of a particular area of expertise. In that case, they are more likely to be given more career opportunities and eventually occupation progression, which helps them be located higher in the societal level. Besides, due to urging needs in science and technology fields to globalize with other nations, students in these branches of study could eventually become the pioneers that lead their country to mass globalization, contributing to the nations’ prosperity and social welfare. Therefore, it is understandable why some people support a predefined syllabus, especially subjects related to science and technology. However, I believe liberty in picking one’s subjects would be of a greater idea. In terms of productivity, students who can choose their curriculum tend to be more motivated and inspired with their favored subjects, making them hardworking and persistent. Those who are given fixed subjects, on the other hand, are more likely to come across stress and anxiety if such areas of science and technology are not their desired fields, making them vulnerable to a sense of inferiority or even dropping out. In addition, university students who choose their subjects by their will could contribute to the diversity of employees in their future, which is crucial for the comprehensive development of society. Given most students’ areas of expertise are related to science and technology, the occupations associating with these fields might be overloaded, resulting in a higher unemployment rate which strains society growth. In conclusion, while there are undeniable advantages of obligating university students to study in particular fields, I believe students should have freedom of picking their subjects for greater productivity and contribution to social development.