my studies in uk and abroad

During my studies at the undergraduate level, I took keen interest in courses such as sustainable energy, control, sensors and actuators, electronics, and courses related to business and management. During the course, I got opportunity in a group project on ‘speed detection radar using microwave radar’ which helped me introduce to the importance of teamwork. In my final year, I chose the project on “Sound Source direction indication system” which gave me valuable lesson on project management and research. During my vacations, I did part-time work in different service-oriented jobs for a few months which gave me valuable insight into these different fields and helped me improve my communication skills while my stay in the UK. After completing my bachelors, I wanted to take a break/sometime off my studies but unexpectedly the break became long as I was looking after the construction of our home in the village and then in the city while my family was living abroad in UAE. This was further delayed by uncertainty due to covid-19 situation. I believe this gap proved very valuable to me as it helped me communicate and deal with different people and improve my communication and social skills which I was extremely weak in. During this time, I worked as a consultant at Rawal Properties and Builders but doing masters was always on my plan so I kept going over my university courses from time to time. I also got the opportunity to work as an Electrical Installation Engineer at MAC Builders where I was responsible for installation, maintenance and reaping of solar and smart home automation systems. The experience helped me develop team leading skills, time management, decision making skills, and punctuality besides knowledge of the filed I have chosen to study Master’s Program in the United Kingdom in light of the fact that although the quality of education offered by academic institutions in Pakistan has improved noticeably over the years but it relies heavily on theoretical knowledge specially in the field of engineering rather than practical knowledge and laboratory work that is provided in UK universities which have Impeccable research and academic infrastructure and the availability of exceptionally valuable internship opportunities. I believe doing a postgraduate degree from UK will not only increase my in-depth knowledge and understanding of the field but it will also make my qualification recognized by organizations like Washington Accord and PEC (Pakistan Engineering Council) and give me a competitive edge in the industry. I would get a chance to interact with students from diverse cultural backgrounds, drawn from all over the world.