An Optimal of Coordinated Operation Algorithm of an Integrated Charger-equalizer System for SOC Adjustment System

The inconsistency between the battery cells can cause the over-charging and over-discharging issue to the series string. Among various balancing techniques, the converter-based methods prevail over the others due to the advantages of speed and efficiency in a large-scale application. However, the conventional control strategies are non-optimized enough to be applied to the embedded system. This paper proposes an optimal coordinated operation algorithm for a bidirectional equalizer-integrated charger that can be embedded into the BMS hardware. The charger-transfer algorithm can coordinate the charging/discharging process with the equalizing process. The proposed charger-transfer algorithm is verified by PSIM for 20 series-connected battery cells. The simulation results show a high equalization performance with an optimal operating time, compared to the conventional methods. Therefore, the charger-transfer algorithm can be applied for a large number of series connections by a single embedded system-based BMS.