my favourite item of clothing

Ooh, my favourite item of clothing! I’m not much of a clothes horse, to be honest, I’m not very interested in fashion so at first, I thought this topic might be quite hard. However, I’ve thought of one. I’ll tell you what it is, when and why I bought it and why I like it so much. The item is in itself unremarkable. It is a purple craghoppers’ long-sleeved shirt. It is made of a quick-drying poly-cotton blend and the fabric has some stretchy qualities which make it easy to wear. The fabric keeps out the sun, and the design incorporates a couple of pockets, one of which has a zip so you can keep small items securely on your person. It is designed as a travel shirt, and to be honest, was rather expensive compared to clothes I would normally buy. I bought the shirt online ahead of travelling to South East Asia. It was just coming out of winter in the UK, but I’d be going to a hot climate. I wanted something lightweight and comfortable to take with me. It was the wrong time of year to be browsing shops in England, they were all still full of winter clothes, so I just had to trust the description on the site that this would be a good buy, but I was nervous in case it didn’t fit or wasn’t practical. I shouldn’t have worried. I LOVE this shirt. It is incredibly comfortable to wear, the colour suits me quite well, and even though it is designed as a travel shirt, it’s actually smart enough to wear for work if you match it with some respectable trousers (or a skirt I suppose, but I never wear skirts! ). It washes brilliantly, and if you shake it out and put it on a hanger it dries crease-free within an hour or so. The hidden pocket is handy for carrying emergency cash on your person, and I like to have a hanky with me too – there is a pocket for that as well. Because the shirt is so comfy, and much harder wearing than I expected, I wore it almost all the time on my travels. This means that the shirt is now linked to very many happy memories of places I’ve been, people I’ve met and adventures I’ve had. I wish I’d bought loads of them at the same time. I’ll be heart-broken when it eventually wears out as one day it surely must. Talking about it has got me thinking – would it really hurt to have another quick look at their travel clothes website once again? You never know, perhaps they’ll have a sale on and it would be a shame to miss out. . . [ Written by - Lucy Marris | Careers Adviser (UK), TEFL teacher (Vietnam) ] Sample Answer 2: To tell the truth, I have a number of favourite clothing items, depending on what I like to wear on what occasions and what time of the year. For example, I have a favourite clothing item for the summertime while another for the winter. But, since this is wintertime, I would like to talk about one of my favourite clothing items which I like to wear during this cold season. The name of this favourite clothing item is called “Blazer”. Of course, we all know what a blazer really is in general, but, to be more specific, it is a single or double-breasted men's jacket which is buttoned near the waist and ending at the bottom of the buttocks. This distinct piece of clothing has endured for a century because it builds out the shoulders of a man while also exaggerating the trimness of his waist at the same time, and its solid lines allow the eyes to move up and down the body without actually being jarred to the right or left. Luckily, I already have one of these clothing items, and it is made of wool, apparently because I like to wear it during the wintertime only in order to keep myself warm. By the way, a blazer can either be expensive or affordable depending on what kind of fabrics it is made of. For example, if it is made from pure wool or brushed cotton, it would be expensive. But, if it is made from some kind of polyester or synthetic fabrics, it would be rather affordable. So, really, its price depends on your taste of fabrics. Anyway, I like this item of clothing, primarily because it helps me keep warm during the winter season, especially, when I am going out of my home. Besides, it is also one of those clothing items which make a man look elegant. Finally, it is one of my favourite clothing items also because it is so versatile, as I can wear it for any occasion both formally or casually with any other kinds of outfits.