My choice is meeting people directly since, in this method, there are less chances of misunderstanding and more chances of having successful meetings.

The traditional communication method was meeting people directly. It's still a favorable choice for a lot of people. There is another group of people who prefer to phone rather than see each other due to the convenience that the phone offers. My choice is meeting people directly since, in this method, there are less chances of misunderstanding and more chances of having successful meetings. The purpose of communication is to share thoughts and understand one another. Nobody would want misunderstanding after having conversation. I remember an occasion when I got a text message from one of my friends and it seemed she was upset about something because of me. In order to reconcile with her, I called her right back and asked her what the problem seemed to be. She said she was not mad at me at all and I just misread her message. I believe the misunderstanding occurred since I could not see her facial expressions, gestures, or mood. These nonverbal means of communication would have helped us better understand what we wanted to say. Now, what's the ultimate goal of a meeting? It's to achieve something successful. This is especially true in business environment. In my case, since I am working in a sales department, I have lots of meetings to make contracts. When I need to negotiate with my clients for the conditions of a contract, nonverbal communication is definitely helpful to persuade my clients and to complete the contract in the end. It's because I can use my sense of humor and trustworthiness. Besides, I'm sure that my clients feel closer to me if I contact them in person rather than by phone or something. Communicating by phone surely helps us save time on traveling to meet people. Nevertheless, face-to-face communication is effective in two ways. By delivering exact opinions and emotions when we meet people, the chances of misunderstandings become lower, and successful meetings are more likely. Therefore, I prefer face-to-face communication to telephone conversation in certain situations.