Music is played in every society and culture in the world today. Some people think that music brings only benefits to individuals and societies. Others, however, think that music can have a negative influence on both.

In a modern society, several changes have taken place in various fields. One of which is the popularity of music caused by the incredible development of high-quality music player instruments. Some people are of the opinion that music has only positive effects for us. By contrast, other people assert that there can be negative aspects to society. In my opinion, the former assertion proves to be more reliable. To begin with, it is undoubtedly true that music is one of the most popular forms of entertainments of a million people in every part of the world. When one feels sad or tired after working all day, music is the things that calm his/her down, refresh and clear their mind. In addition, scientists believe that music also brings a positive influence on human's intellectual. Hence, melody has positive sites for society like relieve exhaustion as well as enhance peoples' mental opportunities. On the other hand, some people insist that music can deteriorate their health. Particularly, people can hurt their ears seriously if they keep listening to music with earphones in loud for a long time. Evidence for this issue is found in research, which shows 80% of related problems are due to over usage of earphones for hearing music. Therefore, music can also have a negative impact on individuals’ health. From my personal point of view, music can play the role of medicine with its healing effect. This is already introduced at hospitals and rehabilitation centers and some universities. For instance, in the USA have a special master program for “Music Therapy” in order to practice the usage of music as a medicine. Thus, music has more benefits to society and culture. In conclusion, although music has a negative aspect as discussed above, I opine that merits outweigh the demerits.