Formal examinations have always been the traditional method to gauge a student’s ability since the ancient days.

However since two decades ago, several educational centres around the globe have been gradually abolishing formal examinations as they were deemed to be an inaccurate method to gauge a student’s ability. This essay is to discuss whether it is more advantageous to implement other alternatives to assess student’s ability in replacement of formal examinations. Usually, formal examinations are conducted by places of higher learning to enable proper and appropriate assessment for their students. This will be a comprehensive and convenient way to ascertain one’s academic level. The institution will be able to know the students who are capable enough to be awarded a degree for instance. Also, they will be able to determine those who are underachieving and thus not deserving of the degree due to the lack of standard and ability. In my experience as a medical student, I sat for several formal examinations in order to prove that I have the sufficient knowledge, skills and aptitude to graduate as a doctor. Formal examinations were definitely essential to determine one’s adequacy of knowledge. However, I am of the opinion that it is unfair to determine one’s ability solely on a single formal examination. Many factors may affect the student’s attendance for the examination for instance, being physically, mentally and emotionally unwell. Some students may experience unforeseen circumstances which render them unable to attend that particular examination. Some of the factors as mentioned can even impair or negatively affect one’s performance during the examination thereby affecting one’s results. Other alternatives like assignments, group work, projects in addition to formal examinations are therefore more ideal to counteract these issues. Moreover, these alternatives can foster other values in an individual such as teamwork, better communications, social skills and problem-solving skills therefore helping the student prepare better for their future career. In conclusion, I support the notion that formal examinations should be not be the only methods to assess a student’s ability. More emphasis should be placed on developing an individual as a whole and less emphasis placed on formal examinations.