Multinational companies are increasingly making their products available all over the world and damaging our local quality of life.

Multinational companies find it easy both to market their products all over the world and to set up factories wherever they find it convenient (paraphrase the question). However, has this had ( use present perfect here to show that past affects the present) a harmful effect on our quality of life? (Use question to lead into body of text). I believe it has. The first area to consider (signpost your first point in the second paragraph) is their products. Supporters of globalisation argue that multinational companies make high-quality goods available to more people. (Give alternative point of view) While this may be true to some extent (give a concession), it also means that we have less choice of products to buy. When powerful multinational companies invade local markets with their goods, they often force local companies with fewer resources to go out of business. (Use 1. st conditionals) As a consequence, we are obliged to buy multinational products whether we like them or not. This brings me to my second point. (Signpost your second point). It is sometimes said that multinational companies and globalisationare making societies more open (give alternative view). This may be true (give concession). However, I would argue that as a result the human race is losing its cultural diversity. If we consumed different products, societies all over the world would be more varied (use 2nd conditional). This can be seen bythe fact that weall shop in similar multinational supermarkets and buy identical products wherever we live. Finally (signpost your final point), defenders of multinational companies often point out that they provide employment (gives alternative view). Although this is undoubtedly true (gives concession), it also means that we have become more dependent on them, which in turn makes us more vulnerable to their decisions. When, for example, a multinational decides to move its production facilities to another country, this has an adverse effect on its workers who lose their jobs (use 1st conditional). In conclusion (signpost the conclusion), I believe (signpost your opinion) that if we as voters pressured our governments to make multinational companies more responsible and to protect local producers from outside competition, we would have the benefits of globalisation without its disadvantages (use 2nd conditional).