Every one of us should become a vegetarian because eating meat can cause serious health problems.

Vegetarianism is increasingly gaining popularity among certain communities and religious groups due to some belief that eating meat can be harmful to their health. Though there may be some effects to health by eating meat, it may not be practical for every one of us to be vegetarians for that reason. Firstly, over a period of million years of human evolution, humans turned out to be omnivorous, which means that they depend of both plant and animal sources for their food intake and the human anatomy and biology also has evolved to facilitate that. Secondly, the human physiology is such that, it cannot acquire the entire protein requirement of the body by plant proteins alone which lacks certain amino acids, the building block of proteins that are present only in animal meat, therefore it is not always healthy to be self-sufficient on plant proteins alone. Thirdly, animal meat is a great source of other essential nutrients of human body such as Iron, Vitamins, Calcium etc. without which human body cannot survive, unless taken externally as supplement. On the contrary, the adverse health effects of meat are mostly a product of over consumption of various kinds of processed meat with many additives and preservatives, and not “solely” because of meat consumption. Even certain vegetables, if over consumed, can be detrimental to health, for example, over consumption of cabbage can lead to thyroid gland disorders including cancers. As such, it can be concluded that everybody becoming vegetarian due to the concerns of serious health issues is not supported evidently by science and evolution. And even if somebody wants to be a vegetarian, their food consumption should also be regulated in order to avoid health problems of vegetarianism.