Most scientific inventions and discoveries are worthless and only waste time and money resources. Give your own opinion.

There is a widely held belief that it is futile for scientists to carry out research and analysis that are time-consuming and require an excessive investment of money. From my point of view, I disagree with this opinion to some extent. Nowadays, a myriad of issues resulted from the never-ending advance of the human race poses a severe threat to the integrity of life on Earth, and thus requires people to implement ambitious research projects to stop our impending march to ruin. Professionals such as doctors and scientists are working hard in laboratories to seek explanations and solutions for a multitude of problems to boost human understanding of the universe that surrounds us, as well as going forward with the mission of protecting the environment that is worsening day by day. Although those scientific works take a lot of time, resources, and effort, they never fail to meet humankind's demands in the end. For example, aiming to accelerate solutions to global climate change, a London-based architectural design firm invented a bio-degradable urban curtain containing algae that can capture and store carbon dioxide. After the carbon sequestration process, freshly photosynthesized oxygen will be released. Thanks to their scientific design, we can partly solve the global climate crisis. It is those great inventions that human beings can rely on, move forward, and evolve day after day. Even those experiments that failed provide valuable insights that facilitate new and successful discoveries. On the other hand, not all of the researches is worth the investment they received. There are people who still continually have the allowance from the government and society to conduct experiments that create worthless outcomes that do not contribute anything in the grand scheme of things. They bring out convincing-sounding scientific schemes and make commitments to the product. Eventually, there are no outcomes at all, and no one knows where all the fund goes. Either that some will have unnecessary discoveries such as incognito barefoot shoes or cereal bowl spoon holder. However, I believe that this kind of worthless discoveries and inventions is just a small minority in the sea of scientific findings. All in all, I do disagree with the opinion that most scientific discoveries are unworthy of time, money, and effort. It is undeniable that without scientific research and inventions, human beings would never develop and improve daily lives. On the other hands, it is reprehensible and shameful for those who are profiting and wasting the resources from the government and society while not contribute anything to the betterment of life on Earth.