Most people tend to have a sedentary lifestyle in this modern age. Discuss the problems of having such a lifestyle. Mention solutions.

These days a sedentary lifestyle is becoming more and more popular despite a big number of sports facilities. This essay will discuss the main problems associated with this issue and propose some possible solutions to avoid them. The main problems caused by an inactive lifestyle are obesity and various spine disorders. A growing number of research shows that long periods of physical inactivity raise a risk of becoming overweight. This is because people burn fewer calories and easily gain weight. What's more, a lot of studies show that so-called 'sitting disease' often results in posture and backbone problems. For example, it has been proven that the majority of people experience backaches at least once a week due to leading a sedentary lifestyle as people lose muscle tissue and suffer from a curved spine, developing numerous spinal diseases. In my opinion, the best solution to these problems is promoting an active lifestyle. Firstly, millions of people stay less active because they use cars instead of walking. Therefore, an effective way to make people more active is to advertise walking and cycling as safe and attractive alternatives to motorized transport. Secondly, an inactive lifestyle is gaining popularity because nowadays a lot of people prefer passive rest to workouts in the gym, and the best way to avoid the hazards of unhealthy living is to obtain a regular dose of physical activity. Thus, promoting gyms and regular exercising would increase the level of activity. In conclusion, leading a sedentary lifestyle causes a lot of health problems, including obesity and spinal diseases. The most effective solution is to increase the level of fitness among the society by advertising physical activity.