Most people prefer shopping in supermarkets. However, they do not visit nearby local shops. What are the positive and negative impacts of this development? Give your opinion.

The world is evolving with new infrastructure as with the advent of supermarkets and superstores. The shopping habits of people have changed. Many people believe that it brings advantages to society while a group of people considers it harmful to local shop owners. However, I think it is a positive trend to have a great shopping experience. According to the latest data, most people favor such hypermarkets as they can shop everything from one place like - grocery, clothes, electronics, cosmetics, and fashion accessories. In addition, these places have a large air-conditioned area along with organized displays and trained staff for helping customers. Moreover, these places have stock of a variety of brands offering the customers by choices. Furthermore, supermarkets also attract people by mouthwatering offers or discounts. With these, they also take the feedbacks of their customers and always try to improve their services accordingly. Although there are few drawbacks of such highly developed places as customers need to spend more time in search of few items and secondly, people consider shopping as a leisure activity rather than a necessity which leads to waste of time or money at supermalls. Additionally, many superstores stock the international brands and unknowingly people get forced to avoid the local or domestic products which indirectly again affects the economy in a negative way. For example, the data from research had revealed that there is a huge reduction in the growth of small retailers and local vendors due to the popularity of such markets. In the nutshell, The developments of supermarkets overweigh the disadvantages as this trend also creates numerous job opportunities for unskilled citizens which eventually can address the serious concerns of unemployment. I personally think it has a profound impact on countries overall economy and the grassroots level employment as well.