Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. with this opinion?

For many years, people have used to celebrate either religious or traditional events by organizing different festivals during specific periods along the year. While some people do remember the origins behind each festival and make efforts to memorize these events every year, others barely know a little or even nothing about popular events they use to celebrate. Recently, it has been alleged that most people have forgotten the meaning behind their national or religious festivals and they only want to enjoy themselves regardless of the original roots for the celebrated ceremony. Nonetheless, it cannot be determined how big do this portion of naïve people constitute out of the general community without precise studies and formal questionnaires. I personally prefer to keep in mind the real meaning behind these events whenever festivals are celebrated in order to enjoy the additional cultural taste, at least, during these dates. Historically, ethnic and religious groups decided to perpetuate specific landmark events through their collective history by celebrating these events in an annual manner. This method is thought to be quite effective in maintaining cultural and religious relations within those groups and creating cohesive communities. On the other hand, there have been many modifications in organizing festivals, as some ceremonies have been faded away while new and modern details have been added to the festivals. Therefore, young people might not know the essence behind the party, and gradually they have gotten used to only celebrating the activity by itself, without any intent to be acquainted with the meaning for these parties. For example, many youngsters who celebrate Christmas market all over the world may not know the real details behind this event and what does exactly this event mean to Christianity. However, I believe that such details are actually important both in adding significant meaning for the celebration itself, and also it is vital as a way to maintain cultural and religious identity. To conclude, if people had not celebrated festivals and had not highlighted its traditional and religious dimensions, they would have forgotten their collective memory and gradually would have lost their identity.