Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals: during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. with this opinion?

Some people argue that we no longer remember the original meaning of festivals, and these people treat them as opportunities to have fun. While I agree that enjoyment seems to be the priority during these festival periods. I do not agree that people have forgotten what these festivals mean. On the one hand, traditional or religious festivals have certainly become times for celebrations. In the UK, Christmas is a good example of these festival periods when people most concerned with shopping, giving and receiving presents, decorating their homes, and enjoying traditional meals with their families. Moreover, most people look forward to Christmas as a holiday period, rather than a time to practise religion. We can see the same behaviour in non-religious festivals, such as Bonfire Nights. People more likely associate this occasion by making fires, watching firework display, and attending events in their local parks. In other words, enjoyment seems to be everyone's a primary goal during these festival times. However, I disagree that people have forgotten the underlying meaning of these festivals. In the UK primary school, children tend to learn in detail about the reasons for celebrating Christmas, Easter and a variety of festivals in other religions. For instance, in late December, children sing Christmas songs which have a religious content, and they also perform various nativity play on Jesus's birth. In addition to this, families also play a vital role in passing knowledge of religion's greater significance on to the next generations. It is true same for traditional religions such as Bonfire Nights and Halloween, where people usually learn about these festivals at an early age. In conclusion, although people, mainly consider festivals as a time to enjoy themselves, I believe that they still aware why we celebrate these festivals.