Most people do not care enough about environmental issues.

Nowadays, there are more and more problems related to the environment, such as pollution and global warming. Many people are not aware to what extent their habits damage the environment and think their contribution is useless. This essay will explain the reasons why people do not care enough about it. Although some change may be perceived by most of the population, the environmental problem does not seem to be perceived as a serious problem. The majority of the population is not sufficiently informed on the subject. This is also due to the inefficiency of governments and media in educating citizens about environmental issues. As a result, people are not aware of how harmful their daily habits can be to the environment. Moreover, leading a more sustainable lifestyle is more expensive and not everyone can afford it. Moreover, there are few initiatives to protect the planet and these are not equally distributed around the world. People have no incentive to change their lifestyles. For example, most people continue to use their car instead of another, more sustainable means of transport because it is cheaper. It is also common to think that the contribution of individuals is useless and that only governments and big companies should take the initiative. In conclusion, people are not sufficiently informed about the dramatic situation and do not act to improve it. Perhaps when there is more awareness people will change their lifestyle. Hopefully, it will not be too late.