Most parents think computer games have little educational value and may have a harmful effect on children

access to computers has significantly increased, giving rise to a higher number of children playing computer games. Most parents think such games are harmful and have little educational value, and I completely agree with them, as they have been proven to be detrimental to children's development. While I do not deny that computer games can stimulate intellect because the players have to use clever strategies to beat other people, many of the games reward children for being violent. For instance, although the games involve strategizing and planning, their character also has to kill, kick, stab, and shoot respectively. The violence that children are subjected to in playing these games in unprecedented. Yes, it can develop cognitive skills as it requires abstract and high-level thinking skills in order to win, but along with that, children also become desensitized and develop aggressive behaviours that spill out in real life. There are many ways a child's development is affected negatively by playing computer games. Firstly, studies have found that children who playing violent games had higher heart rates, reported more dizziness and nausea, and exhibited more aggressive thoughts compared to children who didn't play such games. Secondly, kids who are allowed to play computer games spend too much on them rather than physical playing outside with friends. Therefore, they are missing out on their social development. Finally, because of the sedentary nature of this activity, children become obese because they are too lazy to involve themselves in physical activities. To conclude, I completely believe it is true that computer games have a very bad effect on children and that the education that children can gain from them is just not worth it. Computer games impede a child's overall development, so parents need to be warned.