Most of the world's poor live in countries where tourism is a growing industry. The issue is that tourism does not benefit the poorest. How can the income generated by tourism benefit the poor?

In the last 40 years, there has been a substantial growth in the population of many countries. Such growth is gaining more momentum as there is less work done in terms of sustaining socioeconomic and health conditions that is critical to advise people about birth control. Overall, this has been complicating and weakening the efforts made in the urban and sustainable design fields, which aim at providing new homes for the residents. Relevantly, there is a critical connection in any development scheme between urban and social development, sustainability, and economic. Such connection reflects the need to keep a healthy relation between the three aspects in order to come with a master plan that respects both, human needs and the natural environment. On the other hand, I believe the problem that urban planners face, is providing people with new settlement areas. This is considered an issue because there might not be enough space within the urban setting to satisfy people's needs. Such problem can be dealt with by directly building in the countryside. However, although this might be the only solution in some specific cases, but it is generally a bad planning practice to come up with these easy solutions for many reasons. For instance, building on farm lands or agricultural areas affects the environmental sensitivity in a bad way, and puts more pressure on the natural regenerative ecosystem on this particular site. As well, this haphazard building pattern weakens the economy that depends agriculture. Moreover, it destroys the natural scenes. This unplanned urban development scheme can be clearly seen in the ring road that goes around Cairo city in Egypt as we can notice many buildings that are built on the agricultural lands there. This can be also seen Beirut city in Lebanon. Generally, I would stress on the fact that we need to plan new urban settlements in a more careful manner, which would allow us to meet the growing demand in the housing sector, while sustaining the natural environment.