Most leaders or directors generally belong to an older age group, but some people believe that young leaders are better.

It is highly common that leadership positions are occupied by people in older age bracket, however some prefer young leaders for leadership roles. I completely disagree with this opinion as I personally believe older leaders bring higher value to the table. The principle reason for holding on to my viewpoint is that age is an important aspect of people’s perception of leaders. In organizations, leaders with several years of experience are generally considered highly valuable by others as they can offer prudential guidance. Therefore, subordinates tend to look up to aged leaders with wisdom as a role model whilst holding the perception that young leaders are immature. A further reason for my opinion is experience is the teacher of all things, a prerequisite for leadership roles. It is of paramount importance that the organization is being led by veteran managers with deep knowledge of industry in which they are operating. Most specifically, young leaders often lack strategic perceptive as the ability to look far forward can only be strengthened by past experiences and lessons learnt. Lastly, while younger managers are relentless in their pursuit of perfection, they may stretch team members beyond their reach. On the other hand, their experienced counterparts thrive on challenges as they are risk-adverse, setting feasible goals and they do not seek validation from other people. Challenging the status quo is important; however, it is crucial for a leader to effectively spearhead the followers without putting intolerable pressure on them. In conclusion, it is my firm believe that young people are not suitable for managerial roles. It is because people highly perceived older people as leaders, leading without experience would be tantamount to failure, and younger leaders may wear teammates out with unrealistic goals. Given this situation, it is recommended that age should still be an important factor when considering someone for leadership role.