As more and more people compete for jobs today, it is becoming evident that holding a university degree is not enough to guarantee a good job. For this reason, a growing number of students are looking for work experience either before they go to university or during their university studies. In your opinion, is it a good idea to gain work experience before you graduate

To obtain a qualified profession is a dream of every fresh graduate and student. However, it is not easy to make this dream come true even if one holds a university degree. Because of this reason, young people are eager to have a work experience before they graduate. I believe that, having a work experience at their early ages and before graduation has a significant impact on students’ future careers in many ways and I will discuss some of them. To begin with, there are some benefits for one to have a work experience prior to their graduation from a university. The concept of leaving their comfort zone is one of them. For example, there are number of high school or university students who prefer to spend their summer holidays by participating in the programs of international organizations such as AISEC, WORK AND TRAVEL, WORK AND HOLIDAY etc. In this way, not only do they improve their self-confidence by going to a different country but also their social skills get enhanced by making acquaintance of different people. Moreover, as they keep socializing with people from different countries, their foreign language skills are improved as well. In this sense, it will be less unchallenging for them to maintain the communication with their colleagues when they start working at a company. Apart from that, once a student has a chance to start working at a place, there is a high possibility that this person can contribute to a work environment as effective as possible when they graduate in the future. In addition to this, having a job experience before graduating from a university can contribute to their leadership skills that can increase their chance to get good or their dream positions during official job application process. Another benefit of having a work experience at an early age is that they do not waste so much time with learning the details of the work when they are admitted to a department of a company. That is to say, they can easily cope with the orientation process based on their past experiences. To conclude, I personally believe that, having a work experience before graduation and at early ages combined with these aforementioned factors are the milestone of students’ career pathways.