Most employers nowadays put increasing emphasis on social skills. Some people believe that social skills are important in addition to good qualifications for job success.

The success of any organisation depends on the quality of its staff. I definitely agree that today social skills are as essential as good qualifications while recruiting new employees. No business can thrive if its employees, however highly qualified they may be, lack the social skills. It is easy to see why employers are putting emphasis on social skills in addition to qualifications. Social skills reflect a person's ability to work with others in a way that strengthens long-term working relationships. There are many personal traits such as creativity, adaptability, honesty, integrity, and effort, which are also important besides technical skills. A university degree does not signal whether a person has those traits. A degree does not indicate in any way, how a person will function in the real world. Moreover, if recruitments are focused only on candidates' technical skills and expertise, then it results in hiring employees who have the intellect to succeed but lack the social skills required to work effectively. This is because they lack emotional intelligence, which is ability to understand their own emotions and those of others and to use this emotional understanding to adjust and cooperate with others. This results in interpersonal conflict and frustration and sometimes such employees have to be fired. What is more, such employees are unable to handle the social demands of leadership and so have to remain at lower level jobs. Undoubtedly, academic qualifications are also important because just as clothing is to first impression, so is a university degree to a first job or a job with a good pay. The first thing that companies look for is that piece of paper before looking at an individual's experience. A degree simply proves that an individual has acquired the necessary academic knowledge of how to carry out a job. Having a degree most definitely helps the recruiters in hiring suitable candidates. In summary, it is clear to understand why social skills are given a lot of importance in addition to qualifications. Such skills are the key to success at work.