Most contemporary economies allow such a model employment as being self-employed, which appears very tempting for many. However, still the vast majority of people opt for being employed in a company and not to set up there own business. This essay will attempt to look into the key factors as to why people may prefer entrepreneurship and major drawbacks to it. xabba

Most contemporary economies allow such a model employment as being self-employed, which appears very tempting for many. However, still the vast majority of people opt for being employed in a company and not to set up there own business. This essay will attempt to look into the key factors as to why people may prefer entrepreneurship and major drawbacks to it. To start with, in many modern societies, including Russian, entrepreneurship is greatly encouraged with lots of business seminars and workshops advertised. These may range from slightly fraudulent to genuinely educational and supportive, and generally any information on setting up a company, the image itself has a certain feel of luxury, respectability and success. People are being told that they have no limits and can easily become as wealthy as a Steve Jobs is they wish it. This first reason is linked to the second, which is relevant for Russia and some other countries. Bank loans are accessible too, and they are largely eagerly granted. If a future business person truly knows their business, it poses no threat. Nevertheless, easy access to setting up a company for someone inexperienced or insensible may cause a range of problems. Apparently, the first issue that may perplex an unskilled entrepreneur is the necessity to be a jack of all trades ( if the company is very small). Having taken the responsibilities of an accountant, PR, HR manager at the same time can be a burden and make the person wish they had never done it at all. If they hire other people to perform these tasks, they must pay more tax and provide their employees with decent working conditions. At the same time, business is usually a risky matter and in our competitive reality many of them go bankrupt. And last but not least, self- employed people are the only people responsible for their own vacation, sick, or maternity leaves or any jobs perks. So in a nutshell, being your own master has many downsides, that is why people decide to play it safe.