Most cities are now faced with traffic congestion much more than they ever did before. What cause traffic in major cities? What measure can be taken to solve this problem?

More and more days, more and more cities are be involved by traffic congestion in nearly all over the world. I, however, believe that it is still not too late to redress the issue of traffic. One of the main reason why traffic jams is becoming widespread is antiquated public transportation, especially in metropolises. In most cities, the infrastructure for these vehicles are outdated and most of them are inconvenient as well as overcrowded. Because of this, people especially who commute daily tend to make use of their private cars rather than public transport. According to some reports, Iran, for example has one of the poorest public transportation systems which explain why this country undergo a significant volume of traffic that be incomparable to the past. Poor road layout has, in turn, brings about heavy traffic, which is another factor. Many cities around the world are not built with proper planning and roads are not broad to accommodate a convoy of vehicles in specific traffic hours which greatly obstructs the travels to their destinations. In addition, such roads are a cause of vehicles collision which clogs the roads and intensify the traffic. An example of this situation is developing countries such as India, which statistic revealed that this issue is due to narrow roads. So what can be done? The prevention of traffic congestion requires extensive measure to be taken. One of such measures would be for government to ameliorate the quality of public transportation not only by increasing the number of these vehicles but also by offering them much more convenient along with affordable price which are suits for all the citizens. For instance Manchester has the most efficient buses that help the commuter to have a comfortable life in its when they are in the roads and streets during peak hours. This fulfilment can aid to encourage them use such vehicles which would mean that fewer commuter would need to travel by car. In addition, road infrastructure improvement could technically solve the problem if enough investment is allocated. What governments need to do in their own countries is to widening the roads along with introducing multi lanes for separating each vehicles. By doing this driver of various vehicles could drive in their specific line which plays important roles not only in traffic reduction but also in the number of road accidents, example of, which are now seen among Germany. In conclusion, I feel that we have options to surmount this difficulty, even if it seems that it might be too late.