In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of ones all family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or a negative development?

Family name is very important when it come to identifying who is the person, many years ago people were known from their family name although the name is crucial, however recently in some regions one of the most noticeable trends is knowing its history for several reasons. Personally, I firmly agree that it is a negative trend. To begin with, family history leads to the discovery of its medical record, this might help the individual to acknowledge about the hereditary diseases and the probability of their occurrence. Taking cancer for example, which is one of the genetically inherited diseases, knowing whether it is common in the family or not helps the individual to take all the preventive measures. Previous cultures are another reason, there are many traditions that no longer exist meanwhile others are still being used. Moreover, it brings to people the feeling of belonging means it leads to self-knowing and feeling that they are part of a large family. On the other hand, I agree with those who believe that family history may bring about secrets that destroy the current family members. Therefore, a person will feel embarrassed especially if it is an unpleasant information that might be unearthed. In addition, it is better to belong and focus on present family members leaving the past to the past. In short, although every person has his own desire to know about his family history, I hold the opinion that sometimes it is to keep the past to the past therefore appreciate and focus on the current family members.