More youths are worried about their appearance. What is the main cause and how can you cope with that?

According to many studies, it is true that physical appearance is a big concern of many youths. There are several reasons why they are worried, and some steps should be taken to deal with this situation. Firstly, the influence of social media is the main cause of these youths’ dissatisfaction. Social media, such as Facebook and Instagram, are often full of pictures of those who have beautiful appearance and wear luxurious clothes. As the result, young children are affected by these images and start to have negative thoughts about their own appearance. However, most of the images are in fact photoshopped. Secondly, being worried over appearance is also owing to body shaming, which is common in daily life. In other words, people criticize young children just because of how they look. This can lead to many detrimental effects, which can be extremely harmful to their mental health. To illustrate, a study in the UK has shown that one in four children are concerned about their appearance There are two effective solutions to tackle this problem. One way to deal with this is to raise people’s awareness about the danger of body shaming and how it affects others negatively. By doing this, people will stop criticizing youths’ appearance and start to respect them for being different. In addition, banning photoshop on social media is another method to address the problem. That is to say, the government should impose a ban on pictures that are photoshopped without a reasonable explanation to help youths feel that they are not ugly. To conclude, being concerned about appearance is a common problem, but by implementing these solutions young children will no longer worry about how they look and be more confident in life.